October Favorites

October is not only the month of my birthday but also probably my favorite time of the year, Fall is just started and you have all the best Holidays ahead, it’s like a new beginning after the horrible heat of Summer. We decided it would be nice to celebrate the past month sharing our favorite things.

Alice’s Favorites

Good Witch 3. The third season was finally released on Netflix and I enjoyed it during the whole month. It’s such a relaxing cute show, you never have to worry about drama and things like that, so I really enjoy it. Also, perfect timing since we were close to Halloween.

IKEA Coasters. This is such a dumb favorite, but I finally got myself a couple of coasters for my bedroom desk. This 2 piece set is simple and cheap. Now I can finally stop using random piece of paper under my mugs!

Handlettering Workshop. During October, I’ve been lucky enough to attend a free mini-workshop about handlettering at a local garden and home living store. It’s something very unusual here in Italy and I was incredibly excited about it because I attended it with an Instagram friend! I’m so grateful for all the like-minded people I’ve been meeting online since I started blogging ten years ago.

Birthday Flowers. My mom surprised me with a beautiful bouquet for my birthday and it really made my day, since I never receive flowers.

The Hobbit Chronicles. My parents and a friend gifted me the last two books of the Hobbit Chronicles by Weta Workshop about the making of the Hobbit trilogy and I couldn’t be happier! My collection is finally complete and I have a whole month to dedicate to these books (I’m usually busy rereading Harry Potter during December).

Maria’s Favorites

“Stranger Beside Me” by Ann Rule. I’m fascinated by crime stories, true crime and fiction, but this is the first true crime book I’ve read. The premise fascinated me the most. Before being a best-selling true crime writer, Ann Rule published true crime stories in magazine, trying to make ends meet. At the same time, in the early 70s, she worked with Ted Bundy at a suicide hotline where they saved lives. Little did Ann know that years later Ted would be convicted for murder of over 30 young women. Some even assume his number of victims was well over 100. In her novel, Ann recalls her friendship with Ted and her coming to terms with his heinous crimes. I can’t stop thinking about this book and the events decribed within. I’m sure I’ll reread it in the years to come as well as reading Ann Rule’s other true crime books.

“Japanese Cherryblossom Festival” Tea by Teekanne. In Germany we have this Tea company called Teekanne and their “Japanese Cherryblosom Festival” Tea has become my new favourite. I know, I know, the Japanese Cherryblossom festival is in spring, but I’ve been obsessing over this tea all month. The ingrediences of this tea are: white tea, sweet blackberry leafs, apple, cherry flavour, and cherryblossom flavour. I’m usually not a fan of fruit teas because most fruit teas in Germany contain rosehip and I cannot stand rosehip flavour. So this Cherryblossom tea is perfect for me!

Bosch Series on Amazon. In the month of October, I’ve started watching Bosch on Amazon and I’m loving it! I’m still in season one because I don’t want to binge-watch TV series anymore. I want to take my time and enjoy TV series like a good cup of tea. In other words, I take my time and watch only one or two episodes per week as I did before online streaming became a thing. I’ve never read any of Michael Connelly’s Bosch novels prior to watching the series, but thanks to the TV series, I’m hooked. Titus Welliver, who is portraying Harry Bosch, is one of my favourite actors in general, but I’ve also been loving his character and acting in the TV series a lot.

Salt crystal tea light holders. This is somewhat odd, but I love my two salt crystal tea light holders a lot lately. Whenever summer begins to transition into autumn, and the days begin to get shorter, I love to light candles each night before going to bed. It has become a part of my bed-time routine. I’m not so much into scented candles or certain candle brands. Instead I just buy simple tea lights and put them in some nice tea candle holders and my two salt crystal tea light holders are my favourite. In October it was finally dark enough in the evening to fully enjoy my salt crystal candle holders. Just the way the candle light illuminates the entire crystal, giving off a beautiful glow calms me.

Lord of the Rings Online 10th Anniversary Soundtrack. In September, LOTRO composer Chance Thomas realeased the LOTRO 10th Anniversary Soundtrack. However, I’ve been listening to it the most in October. I love playing LOTRO and its soundtrack always stood out to me. Sometimes, I’d visit a certain area in-game just to be able to listen to its ambient music. But now I have the songs playing on my mp3 player non-stop. My favourite way of listenting to the soundtrack is when lying in bed, with my salt crystal tea light holders lit. This is such a relaxing way to end a day while allowing your mind to drift away to Middle-earth.

Lily’s Favorites

Comic: Scales and Scoundrels, written by Sebastian Girner, art by Galaad, and letters & design by Jeff Powell. I’m always on the lookout for fun comics, and this series was recommended on Twitter by @AJKazlouski of Time Warp Comics. I picked up the first one in September and loved it! The second issue came out in October, and I can tell that this will be one I’m going to follow. When the story starts, Luvander is a scrappy adventurer who is likely to be found hustling locals over a card game at the tavern or stealing an apple just to get by. After getting run out of another town, she happens to team up with a young prince and his protector during a fight, and seeing an opportunity for riches, she joins them on their quest. But little glimpses into her backstory show that there is more to her than her scruffy-looking nerf-herder exterior. Issue #3 is out November 8, and there’s still time to catch up!

Audiobook(s): Smith of Wootton Major and Farmer Giles of Ham by J.R.R. Tolkien, narrated by Derek Jacobi. I can’t believe that there had been new recordings of Tolkien books on Audible since 2016, and I was only just getting around to listening to them! Derek Jacobi is such a wonderful narrator and can perform so many different character voices, and these shorter (yet no less enchanting) stories are perfect for those times when you don’t want to get drawn into a long saga. Plus, they are written by J.R.R. Tolkien! How could you go wrong?

TV Show: The Orville. The Orville is a new series on FOX, and it’s basically Star Trek. I know they have some humor that wouldn’t have found its way out of Jean-Luc Picard’s communicator, but otherwise, it is exactly like watching episodes of Star Trek: The Next Generation. I was late to checking it out, but that meant that I could cheerfully binge a handful of episodes to get caught up. The music sounds like it’s out of TNG or Galaxy Quest, and so many of the episode themes line up with the issues that would have been faced by traditional Star Trek casts. I can’t recommend it highly enough!

 

How was your October? What are your favorite things of the month?

6 thoughts on “October Favorites

  1. gekitsu says:

    i hear maria on not binge-watching that much anymore. or, at least, i’m not binge-watching all the things all the time anymore, and for the same reason she mentions: some things i want to savour. case in point: my rule is one stranger things episode per day. this still allows viewing while staying directly engaged with the plot progressing, but it also allows each episode to sink in and affect me, and make me notice how that specific episode made me feel.

    the rule gets applied a bit more loosely when there are a lot of episodes (classic doctor who) or the episodes are really really short (star wars clone wars’ and rebels’ 20 minute format), though.

    speaking of lily mentioning the orville being very much in the mold of tng: does it strike you as curious that there is such a series at the exact time when the official star trek series departs from the classic trek feel/formula? (haven’t invested any time yet in either of the two series, just seeing people comment on both of them)

    as for myself: i jumped with both feet into the IDW teenage mutant ninja turtles comics. mostly because sophie campbell did some art for them, and TMNT is a bit of a nostalgia thing for me. they are making really beautiful collected editions – big format, thick hardcovers, and they are collating the main series with one-shots and subseries into one correctly ordered sequence – but boy, they are pricy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alice says:

      I tend to exclude those shows with 20+ episodes per series now. For example, last year I wanted to catch up with Gilmore Girls before the release of the new Netflix episodes, but I only managed to watch the first season, now I look for articles with key episodes to watch and stick with them, just to understand the main plot.

      Like

      • gekitsu says:

        oh my god, that is seriously tempting. i’m not sure my mind’s idea of ‘neatness’ or ‘correct-way-this-is-done-ness’ (this came up in a twitter chat with lily recently, and it made her go from ‘i want you on my programming team’ to ‘nevermind, you’d be the death of me’ *really* fast) would let me get away with that, but i can see how it could be a really good alternative for things where i really just want to get the general picture, not full immersion.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Alice says:

          Yeah, well, it depends on the show. I would never watch only key episodes of Pretty Little Liars, for example, because so much stuff happens in every second of the series, it’s hard to keep up with the story even watching them all. But it’s a nice way to watch “easier” shows, like Gilmore Girls.

          Like

    • Lily says:

      I have been thinking that it is a strange coincidence that The Orville came out when it did (at the time when an actual Star Trek tv series was just starting up). I haven’t watched any of Star Trek Discovery because I haven’t signed up for the CBS streaming service, so I can’t personally speak to any differences. I’m just glad to have some Star Trek in my life…even if it goes by the name of Orville. 🙂

      Like

      • gekitsu says:

        dang, that makes it (orville) another series i should keep my eyes on, doesn’t it? and i’ll at least have to get a general impression of st:disco for my greater theory of proper thing-prequels necessarily not being of the original thing’s kind.

        petitioning for 48h days stat.

        Like

Leave a Reply

