Mid-Year Book Tag | July 2017

2017 has been a rather interesting year for me, for a variety of reasons. One being that  most of my geeky entertainment came from books. I’ll be honest, I haven’t seen any new movies or TV shows. Instead, I’ve either re-watched movies & TV shows I already know by heart or I read books. I plan on writing reviews on some of these books, but when I stumbled upon this ‘Mid-Year Tag’ by the Booktuber Shoutame, I decided to do it as well.

Before I start with the questions, here a list of all the books I’ve read so far in 2017:

Maddaddam by Atwood; I, Robot by Asimov; The Divine Invasion by Dick; The Girl With all the Gifts by Carey; The Silmarillion by Tolkien; The Hobbit by Tolkien; The Lord of the Rings by Tolkien; Fahrenheit 451 by Bradbury; The Silence of the Lambs by Harris; Tehanu by Le Guin; Islands in the Sky by Clarke.

Mid-Year Book Tag 2017

1.Best book you’ve read so far in 2017. 
Oh that is a tough one because I’ve re-read Tolkien’s three major works this year (The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and The Silmarillion) and we all know how much I love Middle-earth. However, if I had to pick a non-Tolkien book, it’ll probably be Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. This was the first time I read this novel and I was sucked in immediately.

fahrenheit451

2.Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017.
Again, this is a tough one, but I’ll be honest and pick The Lord of the Rings as a whole. Some people might not know it, but LOTR was supposed to be (and is) a sequel to The Hobbit… it just took almost 40 years to get published.

3.New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.
The Boy on the Bridge by MR Carey, released this May, is the one new release I long to read the most. It is a prequel to The Girl with all the Gifts by MR Carey which I loved! So I’m very excited to get Carey’s newest novel.

4.Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.
I’ll be honest, I have no real idea which books will be released this year since I’m working on my already aquired ‘to be read’-pile. However, I’m very excited for J.K. Rowling’s two new upcoming books Harry Potter related books to come out in October.

5.Biggest disappointment.
Maddaddam by Margaret Atwood. I loved the first two installments in this trilogy (Oryx and Crake & The Year of the Flood) a lot, but Maddaddam was just a let-down to me. Previously amazing characters where suddenly annoying, the greater presence of the Crakers was just cringeworthy to read and the novel as a whole introduced not very much to the overall story. While I did enjoy reading about Zeb and his life, the novel as a whole was disappointing.

maddaddam

6.Biggest surprise.
The biggest surprise would be a novel I’m currently still reading: The Cyberiad by Stanislaw Lem. I’m roughly half-way through it and I love it already! I was browsing on amazon for books when this novel was recommended to me. I was most intrigued by the description “The most famous Sci-Fi author you never heard of” which was true. The novel itself surprised me with its humor. If you loved reading The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, go and pick up The Cyberiad by Stanislaw Lem!

7.Favorite new author. (Debut or new to you)
That’ll be Stanislaw Lem. I’m looking forward to read more books written by him!

8.Newest fictional crush.
In all honesty, I don’t have a new fictional crush.

9.Newest favorite character.
Hannibal Lecter in The Silence of the Lambs is certainly in my top 5 of new favorite characters of 2017. I don’t know if I’ll read the other Hannibal Lecter related books by Thomas Harris in 2017, but they’re up high on my TBR list.

lecter

10.Book that made you cry.
There was no novel that made me cry or in 2017.

11.Book that made you happy.
A book that I’ve read and that made me happy in 2017 was LOTR. It has been a while since I read it so I almost forgot how much I love this book and how much it makes me happy.

12.Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year. 
I haven’t watched a ton of films this year in general so I’m not sure if I can answer this question. I’ll be honest, I’m having a book-to-movie-adaptation-fatique at the moment so I try not to watch new book to movie adaptations right now.

13.Favorite review you’ve written this year. (Booktube version: Favorite video you have done so far in this year)
I know this wasn’t a review, but I really enjoyed The Silmarillion read-along I hosted here on Travelling Geeek Show.

14.Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)
The most beautiful book I’ve bought so far this year was this Russian illustrated edition of The Hobbit from 1992. I’ve been on the hunt for this edition for a while so when I finally found it for a reasonable price on Ebay, I couldn’t resist!

15.What books do you need to read by the end of the year?
Oh there are several ones on this list: The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell, Through Alien Eyes by Amy Thomson, The Cyberiad by Stanislaw Lem, and Spectacles of Deformity: Freak Shows and Modern British Culture by Nadja Durbach to name only a few.

What books have you read so far? Any big reading surprises or disappointments? If you decide to do this tag, leave us a link to your blog-post or video down in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Tag | July 2017

  1. gekitsu says:

    dang, you made so much reading time!

    i scaled back film/tv for similar reasons to you: film wise, there’s not too much i’m that interested in, and TV is just overwhelming. there is so much that might be worth the time that i instead chose none of them, and just continued maintaining two series i was already invested in (doctor who & star wars: rebels), plus a complete deep space 9 rewatch.

    but then, there are quite a few comics i got really into, and there is a downright absurd flood of amazing games out this year – owlboy, gravity rush 2, the last guardian, final fantasy 15, horizon zero dawn, nier: automata – so my reading time beyond academic papers still ended up quite short.

    i did blaze through grim death and bill, the electrocuted criminal by mignola & sniegoski, because it ticks a lot of my checkboxes and was just good comfort reading. i managed to finally hunt down an affordable copy of archery: the technical side by hickman, klopsteg & nagler, and an artist friend made me aware of art & fear by bayles & orland. and that’s pretty much it.

    finally: is it possible to type ‘the divine invasion by dick’ without giggling?

    Like

Leave a Reply

