If We Were Having Coffee | June 10th, 2017

Welcome back to another ‘If we were having coffee’ -post were we pretend to meet up for a coffee to catch up with each others lives.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I’ve re-read The Silmarillion, The Hobbit, The Fellowship of the Ring, and The Two Towers back to back. Right now, I’m still reading The Return of the King and I’m having all the Middle-earth feels. This is the first time that I not only re-read these books back to back, but also the first time I re-read these books in the same year. Usually, I’d read one of them (LOTR counting as one) in a certain year, then the next year another book. I’m so deep down the Middle-earth rabbit hole, I’ll probably read Beren and Luthien right after ROTK, once I get my hand(s) on Beren and Luthien (no pun intended….I’m one-handed myself, but I feel like writing “Once I get my hand on it” sounds odd or could appear as a typo so I tend to use the plural form when writing this phrase….but I digress).

 

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you how, now that I’m not saving up for a trip, I’m spending most of my money on my geeky collections. Well, primarily my Tolkien collection (Although, I’ve also have a few items on my wishlist for my Harry Potter and X-Files obsession) I’ve got 3 Middle-earth related books in the mail already, waiting on 3 more to arrive in the next few days while also having pre-ordered 4 of the 6 LOTR Funkos. The remaining two, I’m planning on pre-ordering with the next paycheck. Sure, for some hardcore collectors, this seems like nothing, but to me this is a huge deal. In the last 4 years, I’ve been saving all my paychecks for one trip or another (A semester abroad, Belgium, twice to London, and a trip to New Zealand). So having the luxury to devote my time and love on my collections makes me go overboard a bit.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you how much I struggle with keeping up with geeky TV shows, movies, and books. There are so many franchises out there that are on my ‘to read’ or ‘to watch’ list that I don’t even know where to begin. Just to give you an example, I’ve watched a few episodes of the first season of Breaking Bad when it came out and I still haven’t finished watching the rest of it to this day…and the show ended in 2013! So what do I do instead? Re-watch movies and TV shows and re-read books I know by heart already. Which brings me to….

xfiles

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you, that I’ve been re-watching The X-Files from season 1 (once again) and now I have this urge to talk about it. I’m thinking about analyzing a few episodes here and there on this blog, such as the Pilot (there is so much I could say, argh!) and I’m wondering if people would be interested? The plan wouldn’t be to analyze every single episode of every single season (ain’t nobody got time for that!). Instead, I’d just pick a few episodes here and there that I loved, that frightened me or that, for some other reason, made me want to discuss them. So what do you say, Yay or Nay? Let me know!

So, how has 2017 been so far for you? Should I analyze and discuss my favourite X-Files episodes? Leave a comment down below!

2 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee | June 10th, 2017

  1. Alice says:

    I have all the Lost and Desperate Housewives seasons on DVD to enjoy, but I mindlessy loose myself on YouTube and I hate myself for that! Plus, being able to finally enjoy Netflix, I’ve started (and not finished) tons of TV series, now my goals is to finish one before starting a new one -.-

    Liked by 1 person

  2. gekitsu says:

    oh god, do i hear you on ‘too many franchises to follow.’ and i’m not even interested in some of the big ones, like game of thrones or the deluge of superhero films from marvel and dc. good to see i’m not alone in my coping strategy, though: i’m currently rewatching deep space nine and am on the last season.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

