Happy Tolkien Reading Day!

Every year on March 25th, the date of the downfall of the Lord of the Rings (Sauron) and the fall of Barad-dûr, Tolkien fans around the world celebrate Tolkien Reading Day. The Tolkien Society organises Tolkien Reading Day since 2003 to encourage fans to celebrate and promote the life and works of J.R.R. Tolkien by reading favourite passages

Poetry and Song

The theme of this year’s Tolkien Reading day is poetry and song. Therefore, I decided to share with you one of my all time favourite poems written by Tolkien and performed by the Tolkien Ensemble: “The Old Walking Song”. When I first discovered Tolkien’s Middle-earth, all I wanted was to explore its realms. I wanted to be just like Bilbo, step out of the door and go where-ever my feet would carry me. Now, I can happily say that I have become Bilbo. If you would’ve told my 14 year-old-self that I have visited New Zealand twice at age 30, I would’ve laughed you in the face. Yet, here I am, one very lucky hobbit, just having returned from my second trip to New Zealand.

Who or what is the Tolkien Ensemble?

In case you haven’t heard of the Tolkien Ensemble, they are a Danish ensemble founded in the 1990s with 5 albums full of musical interpretations of Tolkien’s poems. Long before Howard Shore, the Tolkien Ensemble was, and to some still is, the soundtrack of Midle-earth. In 2002 and 2005, on their albums At Dawn in Rivendell and Leaving Rivendell, no other than Saruman himself, the late Christopher Lee, was featured.

Celebrating a simple life

Today, I will listen to as many different musical interpretations of Tolkien’s poems as possible, I will read some chapters of the Silmarillion and write this week’s wrap-up post for Monday, go for a walk, and try to bake some lembas.

How are you going to celebrate Tolkien Reading Day? Which Tolkien inspired song, musician, or album is your favourite? Leave a comment down below and may the hair on your toes never fall out!

3 thoughts on “Happy Tolkien Reading Day!

  1. James says:

    I have been listening to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdFbFtCNXCY which is a recording of the Lay of Earendil composed by Bilbo in Rivendell. And to two versions of the song Sam sung in the tower of Cirith Ungol.

    The Lay of Earendil is one of my favourite poems. It is jam-packed with all those references to the Sil, which re-inforces the sense of sheer ancientness and remoteness. But as part of the Sil, it happens very late. It does a wonderful job therefore of hinting at how ancient that world is, even to the hobbits.

    Close upon it is the poem about Durin recited by Gimli in Moria: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N6UabeJ9ksM Durin lived in so ancient a time that he makes Earendil look modern

    Another recitation of the Poem of Durin: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=arhTqGX8BCE – go to 3:19:35 – 3:21:21.

    And there is this song from the Hobbit: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N6UabeJ9ksM – go to 11:10.

    Like

  2. Olga says:

    Dream do come true 🙂
    I’ve been re-reading some of my favourite Tolkien poetry today, some verses from The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit. I love how talented a poet Tolkien was! His ability to show how different the inhabitants of Arda are by giving them strikingly different forms of verse is indeed great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

