Sunshine Blogger Award

sunshine-award

Alice here! I’m happy to report that during the last few weeks the Travelling Geek Show blog received the Sunshine Blogger Award (two times!) and we’d like to thank James of A Tolkienist Perspective and Lisa of Tolkien Read Through for this!

Holiday season is about to start and my fellow travelling geeks are already super busy, so I am going to answer some questions myself, I decided to mix things up randomly picking from Jame and Lisa’s lists.

What books on your shelf are begging to be read? (James)

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. I purchased it a month after its release, but I’m still afraid of opening it. I’m one of those Harry Potter fans who was happy with only the seven books and didn’t want a sequel, plus I’ve read so many bad reviews of this book. I’m just too scared to read it!

How do you motivate yourself to keep the blog up and running? (James)

I started blogging in 2007 on Windows Live Space and then I switched to Blogspot in 2010, I only shared personal thoughts back then, but I started writing more useful contents in 2014. What really helps me to keep my (personal) blog up and running is having an editorial calendar and perpetual list of blog posts ideas.

What was the most recent compliment you’ve received and savoured? (James)

I’ve been said I’m very organized and this makes me very proud, since it’s one of the things I put so much effort in my life. 🙂

If you could only visit one more new place the rest of your life, which destination would it be? (Lisa)

New Zealand, the Hobbiton Movie Set to be more precise. I think my choice doesn’t need any explanation!

What’s something that amazes you? (James)

My cat that replies to me when I talk to her, I think she’s hald human to be honest.

What are the top three fictional characters you relate the most too? (Lisa)

Belle of Beauty and the Beast, because I love books; Hermione Granger (even if I consider her more a role model); Bilbo Baggins, because of his love for his home and the tookish side of his character which is hidden awaiting to be awakened.

What do you like to do on a rainy day? (James)

I’ll go with the classic answer: enjoy a cup of tea and a good book. But, to be fair, I also like to play some LOTRO.

What’s your all-time favourite town or city? Why? (James)

I didn’t traveled so much during my life, but the city that makes me feel at home even if I’m abroad is London.

Where in the world do you live and do you like it there? (Lisa)

I live in Italy, in the countryside. I have so many amazing memories from my childhood, since I’ve basically lived like a hobbit, but I don’t like living here anymore, because of several reasons and issues. I’ll probably be forced to go abroad to find a job after university.

What content to do you enjoy blogging about the most? (Lisa)

I used to share only personal stuff, but then I discovered I love to talk about books.

If you could have dinner with anyone from history, who would it be? (James)

I’m a terribly shy person, so this question is a bit hard for me. I’d love to have a dinner with Professor Tolkien, even if I would be too embarrassed to properly talk to him!


Now, the rules of the award say I should generate other 11 questions and nominate 11 bloggers, but I’m going to break the rules (I’m very bad at this kind of things) and invite whoever wants to participate to answers to the question above and tag us! 🙂

I’m so grateful for this blogging community!

Leave a Reply

