Cratejoy Fandom Month: Geek Chic Monthly Unboxing

The Travelling Geek Show was recently contacted by Cratejoy to review some of their subscription boxes since the theme for July is Fandom month! This is the second of my three reviews; read my first review of the Charm With Me subscription here!

Disclaimer: While Cratejoy did send me these boxes, I have not been paid to provide a review. All opinions are my own.

GeekChicMonthly_1

Geek Chic Monthly is a subscription box that offers geeky accessories based on a new geeky theme every month. I received their May 2016 box which was all about superheroes!

For starters, I loved the Wonder Woman box! One cool thing about Geek Chic Monthly is that even the packaging references each month’s theme. I got even more excited when I opened it up — I received a Wonder Woman sticker, Captain America earrings, a Batman bracelet, and Iron Man pouch/coin purse, and a Thor necklace!

GeekChicMonthly_2

Straight away, I tried on the Batman bracelet and the Captain America earrings. I could get away with wearing the earrings any day, but the bracelet had a bit too much bling for me. However, I would totally wear it to a convention or an early screening of a Batman or Justice League movie!

GeekChicMonthly_3

I like Wonder Woman. I like stickers. It took very little time for the sticker to make it onto the binder that I carry around with me everywhere. Doesn’t she look great?

GeekChicMonthly_4

I was excited about the Iron Man coin purse because it’s always handy to have little bags and boxes, but I had a sneaking suspicion that there might be something hidden away inside…and I was right! There was also an awesome Thor helmet necklace with a nice long chain. I can totally see myself using the coin purse regularly, though, the Thor necklace is a little like the Batman bracelet — I think I would only wear it on special geeky occasions.

GeekChicMonthly_5

Overall, I was very pleased with this box, and I can only imagine what cool accessories will be in the upcoming boxes from Geek Chic Monthly. Their August theme is “Pirates,” but unfortunately, it’s already sold out. The theme for September is “Twisted Fairytales,” and that sounds like exactly the kind of box I would enjoy. I’m already wondering about what the design on the box will be!

cratejoy_2I have only recently dipped my toe into the ocean of subscriptions that are out there (I receive one tea subscription and one geeky subscription every month), and I know that it can be a bit daunting. I didn’t want to throw away money on boxes that might only include one or two items that I liked out of the whole lot. If you’re looking for something but don’t know where to start or don’t know if there is a box out there that caters to your tastes, I definitely recommend browsing through the many options at Cratejoy. You’re bound to find something that you’ll love!

4 thoughts on “Cratejoy Fandom Month: Geek Chic Monthly Unboxing

Leave a Reply

