5 Fandom Friday: Favorite Places to Read

5FF

Back in May, we decided to join 5 Fandom Friday — a weekly nerdy link up where bloggers share a personalized top 5 list based on a given topic. Read the 5 Fandom Friday origin story here.

There were no official prompts for May, however, so over three Fridays, we each chose a past topic to get us started. I covered 5 Fictional Vehicles I’d Love To Travel In, Alice did 5 Smartphone Apps I’m Loving, and Maria finished May with Five Favorite Aliens.

The official June prompts were announced, and I’m so excited to share my 5 favorite places to read!

Bedroom

#1 – In Bed

Reading in bed is my favorite thing, and it has been my favorite reading spot since I was a child. Whether it’s using a flashlight to read under the covers when I stay up way too late finishing a good book or contorting myself into weird configurations while still getting enough sunlight to read by, it is the best place for me to recharge.

RainOnWindow

#2 – IN The Rain

Well, not in the rain, but when it’s rainy outside, I love to sit on the sofa by the front window of my house. Unless it’s raining sideways, the porch offers enough protection that I can have the window open, enjoying the scents and sounds, without ending up with soggy books!

ReadingTheHobbit

#3 – Outside

Now that the days are longer and the weather is getting nicer, I’m hoping to do more reading out-of-doors! I find that if the book is engrossing enough, I don’t even notice if there’s a tree root jabbing at me; I once read half of The Princess Bride leaning up against a large fallen tree trunk.

Driving

#4 – In the car

While I can’t actually read in a moving car because of motion sickness, I still get through a lot of books in cars. I know it’s not exactly “reading,” but I love listening to audiobooks in the car! Even if I’m stuck in traffic, I am transported to France, Middle-earth, or the center of the earth! Right now, I’m listening to The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins (and narrated by Ian Holm) — keeping a promise I made in our Read the Classics Book Tag post.

Virgil Olson, blood donor is surrounded by staff and volunteers for a group photo at the Bonfils Blood Center as he donated his 60th gallon of blood on Wednesday morning in Boulder. With Olson from left to right Dolores (last name not available) Ginny White, Patti Hill, Diane Wood, Cassie Egerter, Mary Heyl, and Meredith Engels at right. Photo by Paul Aiken / For a video of Olson's donation go to www.dailycamera.com

Virgil Olson, blood donor is surrounded by staff and volunteers for a group photo at the Bonfils Blood Center as he donated his 60th gallon of blood on Wednesday morning in Boulder. With Olson from left to right Dolores (last name not available) Ginny White, Patti Hill, Diane Wood, Cassie Egerter, Mary Heyl, and Meredith Engels at right.
Photo by Paul Aiken / For a video of Olson’s donation go to http://www.dailycamera.com

#5 – At Bonfils

I recently discovered that my body is a platelet making machine, and it only seems fair to share some of the excess with local patients who might need them. I donate platelets every other week at Bonfils Blood Center, and since it takes an hour or two for the whole procedure, there’s plenty of time for reading! Sometimes I can get so busy and wrapped up that I think I don’t have time for reading, but since I’m literally not allowed to move or do anything else (they do offer movies or tv, but books are my jam), it’s a perfect reminder to slow down and read!

 

I hope you’ll share some of your favorite places to read in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “5 Fandom Friday: Favorite Places to Read

  1. gekitsu says:

    that’s a cool topic!

    i’m not sure i can list 5 places because, like alice, i’m boring. but i do read mostly in bed. no matter the time of day, reading usually means i take a book and flop down in my bed.

    unusual reading spots i use kinda regularly: in my woodworking shop, when steaming wood for bending it.
    at parties. yes, really. most parties hit a spot where i’m getting less and less out of it (alcohol intake over time works against me) and i’d not mind a time-out from interaction anyway, so i take out a book and start reading.

    Like

    • Lily says:

      I like reading everyone’s answers (they’re never boring!), and I like that someone else feels the same about reading in bed!

      I can’t blame you for reading at parties. I try to always have a book with me, and I have been known to bring them to parties when I know the main activity is not for me.

      Like

      • gekitsu says:

        at least two books must accompany me, so i have choice to fit my mood.

        my godfather/uncle’s wedding, for example, had me reading hugh soar’s secrets of the english long bow, and take notes from unfinished tales, while everyone else was busy dancing.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

