5 Fandom Friday: Five Favorite Aliens

We Travelling Geeks have decided to join 5 Fandom Friday — a weekly nerdy link up where bloggers share a personalized top 5 list based on a given topic. Read the 5 Fandom Friday origin story here.

This Friday, it is my turn and I chose the topic “Five Favorite Aliens” from July 3rd, 2015. You can find a list of all prompts over here.

5FF

Five Favorite Aliens

1.Teal’c from Stargate

tealc1

The first on this list is one of my all-time favourite characters from one of my all-time favourite TV-shows: Teal’c. Who doesn’t like this funny, loyal, and fierce hunk of an Alien?

2.Alf

alf-header

Oh how I loved to watch Alf when I was younger. I even enjoyed that cartoon spin-off set on Melmac. Alf was like your weird misbehaved friend you secretely admired for having the guts to be so weird.

3.The Martians from Mars Attacks

Martians

Speaking of misbehaving aliens… I cannot but love the Martians from Mars Attacts. Yeah, it kinda sucks what they did to humanity, but you have to give them credit for wiping off humanity in a humorous way!

4.Spanish Dancer from Embassytown by China Mieville

822295c962cb370dd0289e4c831bdcfe

Image found on: lacasadeel.net

Alright, after those funny aliens, here two aliens and alien races that blew my mind. The first is Spanish Dancer from China Mieville’s novel Embassytown. I’m sure I’ve talked about this book before, but I’ll do it again. It is an amazing novel with great characters, unique alien races and an intelligent plot. Go and read

5.Christopher Johnson from District 9

210495-screenshot_lrg_14

The last alien/alien race in my list is Christopher Johnson, an Poleepkwa alien from District 9.  District 9 is one of the best movies I’ve watched in recent years and the design of the aliens as well as plot blew my mind (I’m still waiting for the sequel…).

From looking at my list, you can say that I love my imaginary aliens mostly in two ways: either as something I’ve never seen before in film or in literature, or as a comic relief. While I do have certain nostalic interest in the standard ‘little grey aliens’ (eg.: the Asgard from Stargate), I’m rather bored by most humanoid aliens on TV & Film (eg.: most Star Trek aliens).

What are your top 5 favourite Aliens or Alien races? Leave a comment down below!

4 thoughts on “5 Fandom Friday: Five Favorite Aliens

  1. Alice says:

    I didn’t watch any of these movies 😀 I’m not very into aliens, but I LOVED the TV show Roswell when I was a kid, I even had a crush for the alien called Michael ❤

    Like

  2. Lily says:

    Like Alice, I’m also not very in-the-know about your aliens of choice! 😀 But any list of mine would have to have Spock on it!

    Like

  3. gekitsu says:

    i agree that most star trek aliens don’t rank highly on the alien scale (i love the term ‘forehead of the week’ for that kind of alien, though!), but i like many of them as societies. i like how the klingons are feudal-japan-meets-80s-metal, or the romulans are this spacefaring roman republic, strictly order-focussed and paranoid to no end, but always having triple- or quadruple-crossed every other species while they were busy holding their introductory speeches.

    also, special shoutout to loving alf!

    anyway, favourite aliens. let’s see…
    – if we’re sticking with one per franchise, picking my favourite star wars alien is going to be impossible. yoda is an obvious contender, because who wouldn’t want to hang out with yoda? but i also have a really big soft spot for ahsoka tano’s unwavering idealism, combined with the irreverence she picked up from anakin. honourable mentions: chewie, plo koon, and cad baine. i have no idea how to resolve this so i borrow anakin’s disregard for rules and choose both of them.
    – elim garak. (star trek: ds9) everything about garak is perfection. he continually plays with all his cards shown, yet no-one knows what his hand is.
    – stitch! (lilo & stitch) because it’s impossible not to love him, and equally impossible not to wail when he goes re-enacting the ugly duckling scene in the hope that his real family turns up. *sniff*
    – the stalk. (saga) right now, i’m fairly obsessed with saga (go read it! it’s so good!), and i love how they made what would have been a generic monster woman into a hardass who loved, and was loved. adding that dimension of ‘the monster’ being seen as someone loveable is fearless in the best of ways.

    lily, alice: if you haven’t seen district 9, it’s really worth watching. it’s a good-looking, well-designed scifi film, but at the same time utterly different from most of today’s scifi fare. it plays heavily with perceptions of the monstrous/alien/ugly vs humanity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

