3 Movies I never get tired of (that are not LOTR)

Look, I know I love The Lord of the Rings. You know, I love LOTR. Everyone knows I love LOTR. While Middle-earth is, by far, my biggest fandom, it is not my only fandom. Nor is LOTR my only favourite movie out there. If I had the money, I’d try start collecting movies because I’d love to own a big movie collection. But, right now, I’m saving every coin for my upcoming trips.

When it comes to movies, I have certain movies I can watch again and again without ever getting tired of them. So when I stumbled upon The Howling Wolfheart’s list of ‘3 Movies I never get tired of’  I thought it would be nice to share my top 3 with you.

Here are my 3 Movies I never get tired of (that are not LOTR)

Ghostbusters 1

Ghostbusters

This is no surprise to some, I know. I did several posts on Ghostbusters before, including a post on my two Ghostbusters Funko Pop Figures and an open letter Paul Feig and Ghostbusters 3. I’m obsessed with Ghostbusters 1&2 and the Real Ghostbusters cartoon. Also, I’m very curious and excited about the upcoming Ghostbusters 3 movie with a female team. However, my all-time favourite is, and always will be, the first Ghostbusters movie. I know every dialogue by heart and I still can’t get enough of it. I know every joke and punchline before it even starts, yet I still laugh as if I’ve heard it for the first time. I love every character and all four members of the team. Although, Venkman and Spengler will always have a very special place in my heart. The first Ghostbusters  is one of my go-to movies whenever I feel sick and want to feel better.

The Usual Suspects

usual_lg_0

It is a little known fact that I have a thing for crime thrillers. While I also love movies like Goodfellas, Heat, L.A. Confidential, or Ronin (among many others), there is no other crime thriller I’ve  watched as often as The Usual Suspects. Even though the big plot-twist at the end is no secret to me anymore, I still can’t get enough of it. To me, The Usual Suspects, is a great example for an ensemble cast movie. I simply love the dynamic between the characters and the way the story is told.

The Blues Brothers 1

37ec9-thebluesbrothers

Similar to the Ghostbusters franshise, I prefer the first Blues Brothers movie even though the second one was decent too. There is so much  I love about this movie, I don’t know where to begin. This movie satisfies & sparks up my desire for travel. Jake and Elwood are fantastic characters played by two amazing actors. And the supporting cast is even better!  Love the humour and, by god, the music is still, after 36 years, amazing. I don’t like to dance, ever. But the Blues Brothers manage to do the unthinkable and make me want to dance. This is another one of my’feel good’ movies I can watch on repeat. Same goes for the soundtrack.

 

Have you seen any of these movies? If so, what are your thoughts on them? Also, what are your top three movies that you can’t get enough of? Leave a comment down below!

3 thoughts on “3 Movies I never get tired of (that are not LOTR)

  1. gekitsu says:

    three films that i never get tired of… that is a tough one. in the mean time, shoutout to mentioning both goodfellas and heat! i love both of them dearly.

    anyway, there are a lot of films i really love, but many of them aren’t every day, every mood fare. and with many other films, i had really intense phases where i watched them all the time, but simmered back down again to ‘normal’ love, so what i mention now may be subject to change.

    blade runner, jackie brown, and empire strikes back (adywan’s despecialized edition)

    there’s much good cinematic comfort food just beyond the cutoff of these top 3, and if i don’t stop typing now, i’ll start writing a list of all of it.

    Like

  2. Katy says:

    Nice list! The Blues Brothers is such a great movie. Ghostbusters would definitely be on my list. Not sure about the other two though. I’d have to give it some thought. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

