Obsession O’Clock: How Sci-Fi Restored My Love for Reading

Welcome to our new blog series Obsession O’Clock where we’ll post about our current obsessions whenever we feel like it. Obsessions come and go, so it’ll be impossible to set a fixed date to post about them.

Obsession O'Clock

My current obsession? Reading Science Fiction classics.

As you can infer from the title, Science Fiction classics (SF from now on) restored my love for reading. I’m currently majoring with a Master’s degree in English and American literature, yet, for the longest time I’ve experienced a reading fatigue. I’ve still read plenty of books per year, but they’ve been books I had to read for university. In my free-time? No books at all for several years.

Someday last summer, I’ve decided to finally work on my ‘to be read’ pile at home and the first book I’ve picked up was Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? By Philip K. Dick. And somehow, I don’t know how, something changed inside me. It is as if something made ‘click’ inside me and now I can’t wait to read all the books in the world. Hmm… maybe I’m a Replicant and an actual button was switched on. Who knows? Anyhow, I digress…

DSC02710

All in all, I’ve read 20 novels in the second half of 2015. Maybe I should try the 50 books a year reading challenge this year and see how far I get.

While I do think that SF novels are ‘my thing’ in general, there is something special about those novels I’ve picked up. I’m not sure if I’ll ever do a review of any of these books, but I do want to mention that Philip K. Dick’s Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? and Asimov’s The Caves of Steel were among my top three books of 2015.

Another interrelated current obsession of mine is Ridley Scott’s documentary mini-series Prophets of Science Fiction. Each episode is dedicated to one SF author and how some of their sciene fiction became science fact. This is an amazing documentary series I’ll going to buy for myself some time this year! Here is a trailer for the documentary:

Oh, by the way, I’ve watched Blade Runner for the very first time earlier this week and Oh Em Gee! I am obsessed! I really, really, reeeeally loved Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? and now with having watched its adaptation, I think I’ve found a new favourite book and movie. I’m too excited about the movie to utter any coherent thoughts so please let me say that ahhhhhhhhhhhhhomg!

blade-runner-batty

Btw, can we please talk about Rudger Hauer’s face? Of course his monologue was one of the best in film history, but dayyyyyyyum, that man is handsome!. Anyhow, I digress, again…

Now, what are other novels or short stories by Philip K. Dick, Isaac Asimov, and other SF literary gods I need to read? Would you be interested in a decent review of any of the novels I’ve read in 2015? Leave a comment down below!

3 thoughts on “Obsession O’Clock: How Sci-Fi Restored My Love for Reading

  1. gekitsu says:

    oh, when you tweeted about blade runner earlier, i didn’t realise you had just watched it for the first time ever! just in case you didn’t already: it’s one of the films that really benefits from bluray. it’s so chock full of masterful details and props and textures that being able to see more of them really adds to the atmosphere.

    also, dangerous days, the multi-hour making-of is super duper worth watching. so many stories about how the film came to be, and what an assortment of top notch people working on it!

    and yeah, rutger hauer. jaw, meet floor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

