Fantastic Beasts Tidbits

Fantastic Beasts logo

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is now a real tangible thing, guys! November 18, 2016 is the date of our return to JK Rowling’s magical world and I already marked my calendar.

After reading the release date of the first movie, I had a very pathetic thought (but I’m sure my fellow geeks will understand): “I have something to look forward to again!”. Not my graduation, the start of my archaeology career or else. A movie. The thing I’m most excited about right now is a fantasy movie. Yep. I will never confess that to my parents though.

Harry Potter shaped my own childhood, even before Tolkien’s work, so I’m emotionally attached to Hogwarts and such. That’s it. And now we even have an official plot and a logo (image above) and 8 magical first photos! Too much for not being already excited about.

Newt Scamander

Eddie Redmayne as Newt Scamander (via Entertainment Weekly)

So, what’s the movie all about?

Eccentric magizoologist Newt Scamander (Oscar winner Eddie Redmayne) comes to New York (for a reason we won’t disclose) with his trusty weathered case. This case is one of those way-way-way-bigger-on-the-inside magical devices, and within are expansive habitats for a collection of rare and endangered magical creatures from Newt’s travels around globe. He discovers the American wizarding community is fearfully hiding from Muggles (who are called “No-Maj” in the States) and the threat of public exposure is an even graver concern than in the UK (remember the Salem witch trials?). Fantastic Beasts is the story of what happens when this uniquely skilled English wizard travels to wiz-phobic America and a variety of his creatures, some quite dangerous … get out of their case.

(Source: Entertainment Weekly)

Epic, right? There is even a new word for Muggles! It’s No-Maj (pronounced “no madge,” as in “no magic”). It sounds reasonable to me and I’m curious to find out how it’ll be translated into Italian (my mother tongue), because they’re always so creative with magical names/words. 😀

Are you excited about the movie? Did you actually read Newt Scamander’s book Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them? 😉

P.s. Here are 5 secrets in the photo above you might have missed!

7 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts Tidbits

  1. gekitsu says:

    since i’ve just recently started reading the books (you travelling geeks were not entirely innocent in this!), this couldn’t have had better timing. i also like that it’s a backstory film, not trying to add more to the harry/voldemort story.

    no-maj is a delightful term. my sister put it best when she said: ‘muggle’ is a word that comes from the place where they also made words like ‘haggis’ – it sounds so regional that it would be entirely out of place in the US wizarding world. (same for continental europe, btw!) no-maj, on the other hand, sounds almost painfully american to my ears. mostly functional, not coming from a long grown history, and somewhat uncaring about aesthetic clumsiness.

    to my sensibilities, ‘muggle’ has a bit of the same charm as a british-cut heavy tweed suit, while ‘no-maj’ sounds as unelegant as a brooks brothers suit or suspenders worn without a jacket. if that analogy stays true, you italians must have a really nice word for magically ungifted people, because who could rival your suits?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hergeekery says:

    I’m so beyond excited! I’m not a huge fan of Eddie Redmayne, but I think he looks fantastic as Newt and I’m sure this movie won’t be a disappointment!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

