Disney Pumpkin Craft (aka How to be a Fairy Godmother)

When I was three, I got a VHS tape of Disney’s animated Cinderella and proceeded to watch it seven times that day.

It would be fair to say that I have a thing for Cinderella.

Even though I’m a proper grown-up now (and ten times the age of that fateful glass slipper encounter), I still find myself drawn to Cinderella. Whether it’s because of her fairy tale or my autumn birthday, I also love pumpkins. So when I saw this kit at Target for turning an ordinary pumpkin into Cinderella’s iconic carriage, I knew I had to pick it up.

Pumpkins

There were others available at the store, but none of them really make as much sense as the Cinderella one.

I suppose I should mention that while this kit has just about everything you need, you do have to pick up your own pumpkin. I think I saw some “carvable” fake pumpkins at the store; does anyone know anything about those? Because I have to admit, if you could get one in the right color, I think that would make this a better craft for kids. Painting is fun, but if you actually want it to look good, it takes a fair amount of time and patience!

I guess I assumed that the reason why the kit included a foam “brush” was because it was cheap. But about two seconds with the paint on the pumpkin made me realize that maybe it was done on purpose. I seemed to be a lot more effective when I started dabbing rather than brushing. But I could tell that one coat wasn’t going to cut it.

I went ahead and did three coats of paint because even two was looking a little splotchy. I had to give up on any ideas of having the stem look pristine, too. That foam brush is just not made for accuracy! I went as far down the sides toward the bottom of the pumpkin as I could manage. It started to rain and I had to let the paint dry, so I decide to finish the following day.

I was trying to figure out how I could hold up the pumpkin so I could paint the underside. I needed something that wasn’t going to ruin the stem, because that was the main charm of this pumpkin for me. Luckily, I grabbed a cardboard pallet from work that I use behind my archery target, and not only did it do the trick, but the arrow holes in it made for a great paint brush holder! I used the last of the paint on the bottom.

Lily_DIY_Pumpkin_007

Finally, it was time to add the carriage parts. With the three layers of paint and the fact that it was cold outside, it took a bit more effort than I was expecting to push in the wheels and other details. I wish I had taken a bit more time in planning how to add them because I wasn’t perfectly happy with the way it looked. But who among us is ever completely satisfied with their work?

Lily_DIY_Pumpkin_008

All in all, it was a fun craft and a nice way to satisfy my inner child!

I recently learned that a teal pumpkin on the porch means that you have non-food items for Trick-or-Treaters. Some kids have dangerous food allergies that can make Halloween downright scary. Kids and parent know that houses with teal pumpkins are a safe bet. While I’m not sure my pumpkin technically qualifies as teal, I wanted to make sure that I had some options for kids who might see it and be excited for non-food options. We always hand out bottles of water in addition to candy, but I’m going to pick up some sticker books so that there’s something fun for everyone. Click here to learn more about the Teal Pumpkin Project.

Whether you carve pumpkins, dress up, or both, I hope you have a safe and happy Halloween!

5 thoughts on “Disney Pumpkin Craft (aka How to be a Fairy Godmother)

Leave a Reply

