Harry Potter Questionnaire

Harry Potter Questionnaire

Few days ago I stumbled upon a great Harry Potter questionnaire on Amanda’s blog and I thought it would be fun for the three of us to answer the questions in a giant blog post! I’ve been surprised (in a positive way) by the different answers of Lily and Maria, and I love that. Being friends and having different point of views at the same time is awesome!


1. What is your favorite book? Why?

Alice: I don’t have a favourite book, I can’t pick one! I love the first books because I read them when I was a child and Harry was a child too, but I also like the others, because it’s where things actually happen.
Lily: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is my favorite of the books. I love books where I am so invloved in the story that I literally want to jump into the books so I can punch the baddie. Really, I’m not a violent person, but I wanted to punch Dolores Umbridge so badly.
Maria: For me, It’ll be Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone because that is the book that enchanted me and got me hooked on Harry Potter. It may sound cheesy, but it really was magical to enter the world of Harry Potter for the first time.

2. What is your favorite film? Why?

Alice: My favourite film is Harry Potter and the Chamber of the Secrets, because they story is amazing and it was still directed by Columbus, my favourite filmmaker of the saga.
Lily: My favorite film continues to be Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I really can’t quite put my finger on why it’s my favorite (especially since it’s not my favorite of the books), but I always attribute it to the fact that it’s the only one directed by Alfonso Cuarón. I guess I really like his style!
Maria: I have to agree with Lily, my favourite movie is also Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I think its mostly because of the dynamics between Lupin, Snape, and Sirius. As much as I’m looking forward to see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, I’d die to see a Marauders movie!

3. What is your least favorite book? Why?

Alice: My least favourite book is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, because it was the very first HP book I’ve read. My mom watched the news on TV and discovered these amazing book saga from an unknown author and, thanks to all the great critics, she decided I had to read them. She went at the supermarket and bought the Prisoner of Azkaban, because it was the only on sale there. I was 8/9, I started reading a decontestualized book, I didn’t read the previous two ones, so I didn’t like it!
Lily: I think my least favorite book would be Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. For some reason, I never found that one as engaging as so many of the others.
Maria: I don’t know why, but for some reason I like Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire the least. I could re-read the other books several times right after finishing them. But not so with Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. I was just glad when I’ve finished the book.

4. What is your least favorite film? Why?

Alice: Again, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, but this time it’s because I highly disliked how they changed many things from the first two movies, starting from the Hogwarts scenery, the yard and the entrance of Hagrid’s house, the lands around the castle, the absence of school uniforms…I could go on and on. I love details, HP is full of details and the first two movies were just as I always pictured the books in my mind.
Lily: I’d have to say that Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part One is my least favorite movie, because it felt like a commercial for camping equipment! Really, the main thing I remember about that movie is the pacing feeling really bogged down by so many shots of just their tent…in the woods.
Maria: Thats a tough one because I like all movies for different reasons, but Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince is my least favourite film. The dynamics between the teen drama between Lavender Brown, Ron, and Hermoine were so annoying in the movies and felt out of place compared to the amazing scenes with Draco.

Perkins' Tent at the Forest

Perkins’ Tent at the Forest (source: Harry Potter Wikia)

5. If you had to hook up with any character would it be?

Alice: I always had a crush for Oliver Baston.
Lily: Haha, this is a tough one, because since I’m older now than when I first read the books, it seems weird to pick one of the students. But let’s say that they’re all grown up as well—so I pick Lee Jordan!
Maria: Lucius Malfoy. For some reason, I seem to have ‘a thing’ for blond, long-haired, arrogant on-screen characters (Prince Nuada from Hellboy and Thranduil from The Hobbit, anyone?)

6. Who is your favorite character? Why?

Alice: Hermione, but also Dumbledore. She’s the one I’d always wanted to be, while he is a beautiful character in his imperfections.
Lily: Fred and George are my favorite characters! I know it seems like I’m cheating by saying two, but you definitely can’t split them up.
Maria: Lupin and Snape. But if I had to pick just one, then I’d say Lupin because I think I can identify with Lupin’s character and with what he goes through the most.

7. Who is your least favorite character? Why?

Alice: Dolores Humbridge. I hate her more than Bellatrix, because she hides herself behind a courtain of false courtesy, she also reminds me a professor I had in highschool (he didn’t use corporal punishments, of course, but he was very mean).
Lily: Like my fellow Travelling Geeks, I obviously loathe Umbridge. But I can’t say she’s my least favorite because I like that she’s in the books because she gets such a visceral response from me. So instead, I’m going to say Aunt Marge because she’s just horrible.
Maria: Umbridge. Because, obviously.

Hermione's Wand

Alice received Hermione’s Wand from Lily as Christmas present!

8. What is your least favorite line?

Alice: I can’t honestly think about a least favorite line! (Edit: I agree with Lily and Maria, I forgot that horrible line in the movie, Dumbledore creeps me out in that scene!)
Lily: I agree with Maria! “Did you put your name into the Golblet of Fire, Harry?” Settle down, Dumbledore.
Maria: In the movies, it’ll be Dumbledore’s exaggerated reaction in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire when he finds out that Harry’s name was in the goblet.

9. What would your patronus be?

Alice: I’d love to have a cat as Patronus, just like Minerva McGonagall (not Dolores Humbridge!). I wish that Pottermore had a test for that 😦
Lily: Like Maria, I have a real affinity for rabbits! I really don’t know what it would be, but I think it would be interesting to hear what other people makes sense for me.
Maria: I still need to figure out what my patronus is on Pottermore, but I’d love to have a rabbit patronus. As a child I’ve loved rabbits. I had (and still have!) a rabbit plush that was my best friend during my childhood. I’ve also loved Bugs Bunny, so to me, a rabbit patronus would be perfect!

10. If you could have the Resurrection Stone, the Invisibility Cloak or the Elder Wand, which one would you choose?

Alice: I’m an introvert, the Invisibility Cloak would be great for me!
Lily: I would definitely chose the Invisibility Cloak. I like the idea of being a fly on the wall and learning about different things without being seen. I guess that sound a bit creepy, but you guys know I don’t mean it that way, right?
Maria: Invisibilty Cloak. There are so many places I’d love to visit that I don’t have access to, if I had the Invisbility Cloak I’d sneak in and explore everything

11. Which house would you be in?

Alice: Pottermore put me in Hufflepuff and I totally trust it. Also, Hufflepuff’s common room looks like Bag End.
Lily: I always associate myself with Hufflepuff. In Pottermore, I was sorted into Ravenclaw, but, since Harry Potter got to sort of choose which house he went into, I think The Sorting Hat would hear me out and put me in Hufflepuff.
Maria: Slytherin. I’m a proud Slytherin whereever I go, including Pottermore.

Maria at the WB Studio Tour in UK

Maria at the Warner Bros. Studio Tour in UK

12. If you could meet any member of the cast, who would it be?

Alice: Emma Watson, Maggie Smith and Mark Williams, they’re just my faves as movie actors and as people.
Lily: Emma Thompson! I know that her character Professor Trelawney isn’t in the films too often, but I love her just in general, and would love to meet her.
Maria: Jason Isaacs because of reasons…

13. If you were on the Quidditch team which position would you play?

Alice: I am afraid of heights, so no Quidditch for me!
Lily: I suppose you’re asking the wrong people! I don’t think I would be on the Quidditch team, either.
Maria: Honestly, I wouldn’t be on a Quidditch team. I’m horrible at sports and would never be chosen into a team. I’d rather sit and cheer for my team.

14. Were you happy with the ending?

Alice: Unpopular opinion: I never liked the very last chapter where Harry and his friends accompany their children at King’s Cross. I always thought it was a forced moment and something we could definitely imagine without reading it, I also think that Harry and Ginny exaggerated with the choice of the names for their children.
Lily: Honestly, I was perfectly happy with it. I felt very content with how everything played out. I know that’s boring, but I’ve never felt strongly about it one way or the other!
Maria: For the most part, I am. Despite the deaths, I think it is realistic that so many important and favourite characters died. I’d even argue that each death was important for Harry’s development. What I didn’t like was that Ron and Hermoine married. It would’ve been better if Hermoine married someone unknown or atleast lesser known wizard with similar aspirations and intellect as hers… Yeah, I stand by my point.

Lily was lucky enough to experience the Universal Studio Tour in Florida!
(Click the photos to enlarge)

15. How much does Harry Potter mean to you?

Alice: Harry Potter has been my very first fandom. I grew up with the characters. When the first movie went out I was 11, just like Harry and friends, it was amazing. It just means everything to me!
Lily: Harry Potter is one of many fandoms that I enjoy. It holds a certain special place in my heart (for reasons that would take too long to list here, but maybe I’ll do a post about it one day), and I love that we can engage with a wide range of people who all enjoy the world of Hogwarts, Time Turners, Golden Snitches, and Butterbeer!
Maria: A lot. It means to me as much as Tolkien’s Middle-earth and Middle-earth is my life. Both inspire me, make me happy, and without these two realms, I’d be a different person than I’m today.


Feel free to join us and write a post with your own answer! We’d love to read it, so be sure to tag us on social media (or share the link to your post in the comments below).

16 thoughts on “Harry Potter Questionnaire

  1. Alex Hurst says:

    I agree with Alice on the last scene, haha. It killed the high note for me. Better to have all of that as an Appendix, like Tolkein did with LoTR. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

