A Geek’s Guide to London

A Geek

“When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life; for there is in London all that life can afford.”  – Samuel Johnson

There are only few cities in this world that have been at the centre of our imagination as much as London. The 19th century novel could be easily described as a novel about London considering the amount of books, poems, and short stories somehow took place in London. I’m probably a bit biased as an English Major, but I love London. So it is no surprise that I enjoy visiting London repeatedly. This May, two friends and I will spend a week in London and I’m barely able to contain my enthusiasm. And yes, I’m totally one of those people that want to start packing their suitcase at least one month in advance… I’m not the only one who does this, right? Right?? So in order to get into the proper mood, I’ll write ‘A Geek’s guide to London’ in the following week with tips for a geeky holiday. I’ll write about geeky things to do in London whether for money or for free, about books to read, how to spend a Harry Potter-themed day, and everything else that my current self needs to hype itself for the upcoming holiday.

This time around, I want start with a little playlist of London-themed songs to listen to. We’ll drive by train on our way to London and fly back home. So at least during our journey to London there will be plenty stuff we can and need to do to pass the time. There are countless other songs featuring London that one could listen to, and I certainly will, but the three in my list below are my current favourites for all kinds of reasons.  For my Harry Potter-themed activities, I’ll not only listen to ‘Werewolves of London’ ( any Remus Lupin fans out there?), but to W-Rock in general as well as to the Harry Potter audiobook. For those that don’t know what W-Rock (or also known as Wizard Rock) it’s basically  Harry Potter inspired rock music (btw where are all the  Hobbit Rock bands??).

So without further ado: Songs to listen to in London

  1. The City – Ed Sheeran
  2. London Calling – The Clash
  3. Werewolves of London – Warren Zevon

Any songs I need to listen to instead? I’d be very happy for any suggestions!

One thought on “A Geek’s Guide to London

Leave a Reply

