I Want to Believe in the X-Files Revival

The-Truth-Is-Out-There

[X-Files theme plays dramatically in the distance]

Everyone must’ve stumbled by now upon the various rumours about a possible X-Files revival. Now it seems there is some truth to these rumours:  Fox is close to finalizing X-Files revival. And you know what, maybe it’s because I’m getting old and I become too occupied with keeping non-existant neighbour kids off my hypothetical lawn and other old-people’s stuff, but my excitement is as mysteriously hidden as the truth.

Don’t get me wrong, I love and adore the X-Files! It was (and still is) one of my all-time favourite TV shows. I was obsessed with Dana Scully and always wanted to be like her when growing up. Scully was the sole female character on TV I could identify with and look up to. She really was one helluva awesome female character among several amazing male characters. I even liked the last two seasons! A few years ago, when the second X-Files film was released, I’ve actually went to see the movie in a Scully cosplay (I’ve dyed my hair red at that time so that was a plus). So why am I not hyperventilating from excitement?

tumblr_inline_nhgqdhGDcT1qakkpc

Maybe I’ve become a negative nancy, but maybe I’ve just become too much like Scully.

Because there’ve been so many countless re-boots, revivals, remakes and other forms of recreating an existing idea into a movie and TV-show starting with the prefix “re-” that I instantly assume it’ll suck. Now I know how Scully must’ve felt everytime Mulder exclaimed: “I don’t want to say it was aliens, but it was aliens” because that’s exactly how it feels like to read about all these revivals, reboots, remakes and re-whatevers.

Apparently it’ll be only one, 10 episode long, season, trying to resolve the storylines after I Want to Believe and the original series’ finale. Gillian Anderson, David Duchovny, Chris Carter, AND Mitch Pileggi are rumoured to be on board so there is room for hope. I guess, until we get to see the first episode and can form an opinion based on facts, all we can do is to believe.

6 thoughts on “I Want to Believe in the X-Files Revival

  1. gekitsu says:

    i guess i’m with you on this one.

    while we do have doctor who as an example that with enough great people, it is indeed possible to successfully follow big footsteps, we have so so so many re-everythings that the prospect of yet another one just fails to excite. when someone decides it is a good idea to reboot films a mere ten years old (spider-man), when we haven’t even come any stretch of way worth mentioning in these ten years, a certain air of absurdity is hard to deny.

    the whole craze makes me wonder what is so bad about being inspired. how is it less risk-averse to be inspired by x-files and dana scully to make a supernaturally-themed show with good characters, than making new x-files episodes that will have to measure up to people’s nostalgia, not just the actual series? and how is an industry hell-bent on continually making the safest possible bets with their money not a big invitation to crash the resultant stagnation with something fresh?

    also, and this is the big fan of tom bombadil speaking, i am not a big fan at all of resolving every last bit of mystery. mysteries and maybes are alive in the mind. certainty and closure are not.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Maria says:

      Great points! This uncertainty and mystery was exactly what made X-Files so exciting and kept the audience’s attention. A monster you can’t see is far more frightening than most you do see (best example: the movie Signs….as soon as we saw the aliens it got boring).

      Like

      • gekitsu says:

        also:
        * poe and lovecraft.
        * alien by itself is still scary (after 35 years of special effects evolution, no less)
        * is the arkenstone a silmaril? (77 years)
        * what is tom bombadil? (60 years)
        * is deckard a replicant? (32 years)

        and we aren’t even talking about the use of mystery as detail flavouring, as in aldo raine’s rope scar around the neck (inglourious basterds), the mysterious sword conan finds in a tomb (1982 schwarzenegger film), etc.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Natacha Guyot says:

    As much as I love to see new series (which actually last more than one or two seasons as so many things got cancelled too early), I don’t mind reboots or continuations like this. I tend to like long lasting franchises (such as Star Wars). I am not enthused with all reboots/remakes, but neither am I with brand new titles either.

    I have been hoping for more X-Files for a long time and seeing it close to happen is amazing. I read that they might or might not take the second movie into account (if they don’t, I’m not going to cry). I would love to see Doggett and Reyes back and if we were to get 10 episodes for a continuation, it’d be great. I am unsure of the numbers but after all, Fox brought back 24 for a limited season last year, a few years after cancellation too. I don’t consider that new seasons, years after, are that much of a reboot/remake. I find that the terms can be thrown everywhere even when it doesn’t actually cover what it should mean.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amanda says:

    I’m right there with you. I’ve been disappointed too many times by various reboots that I’m sort of disenchanted with the whole idea. Still, I know I’ll watch it while crossing my fingers that it rocks my socks off.

    Amanda | teatimetails.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

