An Open Letter to Paul Feig and Ghostbusters 3

(Some of you might’ve already heard this, but the cast of an all female team has been found. Kristen Wiig, Melissa McCarthy, Leslie Jones and Kate McKinnon have been allegedly cast in Ghostbusters 3 … read more over at Legion of Leia.)

Please, don’t screw this up! Sorry for being so blunt, but this is too close to heart for me to give the benefit of the doubt straight away. I’m not only a Ghostbusters fan as long as I’m able to think, I’m also a female movie buff. It is no secret that Hollywood has not the best track record in re-booting old classics, nor is Hollywood’s percentage of female leads (or writers, directors, producers either) tremendous. Way too often certain voices claim that female-only blockbuster leads won’t attract an audience. I don’t want these voices to be able to say ‘Ha! Told you so!’ Instead, I want young boys and girls, who might’ve never heard of Ghostbusters before, be excited and go ‘F*ck yes! I want to be a Ghostbuster just like them!’ Ok, maybe without the ‘F*ck yes’, but you get the point.

Now that we got that out of the way, lets move on with what I hope to see in Ghostbusters 3. My biggest concern is that one or several members of Ghostbusters 3 will end up being the daughters of the original Ghostbusters team and that this alone will be the motivation for the new team to start the Ghostbusting business. Instead, I’d like them to be University lecturers that befriended each other in grad-school and their common interest for science and the undead let them stumble into the Ghostbusting business. Also, instead of turning them into the daughters of the original Ghostbusters, why not tell how one or two members of the female team witnessed the events of Ghostbusters 1 & 2 while growing up and wanted to become scientists first and the interest in the Ghostbusting business was more of an odd side-interest than anything else. Only after doing their own scientific research, the female team, now grown to 4 members (befriended during grad-school as mentioned earlier), realizes that there is something seriously epic about to happen and that they need to take action.

As for possible typecast roles, please don’t. Please don’t be tempted to cast Leslie Jones into a Ernie Hudson role because of their skin colour. Likewise don’t cast Melissa McCarthy as the equivalent of Dan Ackroyd because it seems so easy to make her the goofball of the team. I’m open for any possible character constellation as long as they are not based on typecasts and stereotypes.

I really hope, no I wish, that Ghostbusters 3 with a female only team will be the next big thing that blows everyone’s mind similar to Guardians of the Galaxy. Only time will tell. Until I know more, I try not to be too excited.

6 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Paul Feig and Ghostbusters 3

  1. Eric says:

    Absolutely. Having grown up with the original Ghostbusters, it’s basically sacred to me. I’m 100% on board for an all female cast, but after seeing the announcement, I’m almost as certain that they’re going to drop the ball in all the ways you don’t want them to. I really hope I’m wrong.

    Love the idea of them witnessing the events as kids.

    Like

  2. Kim says:

    The sad reality is that there is little imagination in Hollywood these days so we get mostly crap coming out and nothing worth watching. Like others, I am excited this is an all-female cast since I, too, grew up with the original Ghostbusters. I just hope they don’t screw it up. I’m not holding my breath though.

    Like

  3. Pete Hutt says:

    Basically, this project is screwed up from the very start. The decision for a female cast is just adding insult to injury.

    For old Ghostbusters fans, this franchise will remain a dilogy. The new generation of Ghostbusters fans that will not know what they’re missing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

