If We Were Having Coffee | January 24, 2015

Photo by my fellow travelling geek, Alice! Available on stationary, iPhone skins, and more!

Photo by my fellow travelling geek, Alice! Available on stationary, iPhone skins, and more!

I’ve decided to participate in a blog link-up called #weekendcoffeeshare. The idea was coined (okay, she’ll explain that it wasn’t first her idea, but she’s kept it going) by Diana over at Part Time Monster. She writes a weekend post filled with the thoughts she’d share if she were getting together with you, her friend, for coffee over the weekend. This year, she’s opened it up for others to participate and share their links!

So let’s pretend that I’ve travelled to you, whether you live in Germany, Italy, or somewhere else in the world, and that we’re getting comfortable and enjoying a drink together.

  • If we were having coffee, I would ask you if you had ever watched the show, Avatar: The Last Airbender. (Letโ€™s be honest; no matter what you say, this conversation will end with me asking you if you would be a waterbender, an earthbender, a firebender, or an airbender.) I binged on the show over my winter break, and I got so hooked that I am now working my way through the graphic novels and Legend of Korra. I’m in love.
  •  

  • If we were having coffee, I’d ask you what your favorite video game is. Maybe you can’t decide, so I let you come up with your Top 5 list. I’d share that I love the Fable series, and that it was the best birthday present when Fable 3 came out on my birthday. That was over four years ago now, but I still love playing it and its predecessors. I tried to get into the closed beta for the upcoming Fable Legends, but no luck so far. Keep your fingers crossed!
  •  

  • If we were having coffee, I’d ask you what music you’re jamming to right now. Anything I should add to my playlist? I’ve been going back and forth between minimalist piano pieces and the soundtrack to The Muppets. As one does. I’d really like to update my playlists and download some new music, but there are a few other priorities ahead of it in my queue.
  •  

  • If we were having coffee, I’d ask you to help make me feel better by please telling me that you still have some Christmas stuff out, even if it’s only in boxes. I’m slowly working on putting everything away, and I’m worried someone will come over and see the mess that is my living room and judge me! After we’re done having coffee, I’m going to go work on it some more. To motivate me, I’ve promised myself I can buy a new plant or two, but only when I’ve finished!

Before we went our separate ways again, I’d pester you: “So, what kind of bender would you be if you lived in the Avatar/Korra universe? Explain your answer!” Here’s a handy video for your reference!

21 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee | January 24, 2015

  1. Diana says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you joined us!

    I’m aware of the Avatar series but haven’t really watched much of it.

    I do love the Fable game series, though. ๐Ÿ™‚ Right now Little Jedi (he’s 5 1/2) is enjoying Lego Marvel Super Heroes and Skylanders Trap Team, and the husband and I are playing through some old games, like Arkham Asylum, on the 360.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. heatherjacksonwrites says:

    Cool! I’ve never watched Avatar, but loved the video you posted about the different styles of martial arts they use. Now what would I be… I think I’d be an Earth bender. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gene'O says:

    That video was helpful. I’ve seen the movie, but only a couple of episodes of the show. I’d be a Waterbender because of that bit about “softness and breath can be more powerful than aggression.”

    I haven’t gamed in years, so my top five is really going to show my age.

    1. Morrowind. Absolutely the best game I have ever played because of the easy modding system and the cluttered world and the non-linearity.

    2. Fallout 2 (and the franchise in general).

    3. Civilization – hard to pick just one, but I’ll go with Civ 4. Although Civ 2 is probably the game I’ve spent the most hours of my life playing.

    4. X-Com – Army vs. Aliens in turn-based tactical combat.

    5. Thief – The first game I remember that took the first-person shooter to another level and made it into something interesting.

    If I were to get back into gaming, the first thing I would pick up is Assassin’s Creed. I think that one could be a favorite if I played it.

    Awesome post, and so glad you’re joining us for the coffee!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lily says:

      Oh, just the movie? Apparently, we don’t talk about the movie. I’ve never seen it–I remember being excited to watch it, but my friend saw it opening day, and told me to STAY AWAY. Everything I’ve seen in the Avatar fan community has been very anti-movie. It’s a shame, because I often think that it would make a great live-action story.

      Nice list of games! I haven’t played all of those, but I feel like I know a bit more about you just by your choices. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Robin Rivera says:

    My kids love this show. I have one waterbender and one firebender. I would be a waterbender like my eldest, but I’m married to an earthbender.

    You are not alone, the Christmas stuff is piled high in the living room.

    Thanks for sharing coffee, I had fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. gekitsu says:

    oh, i like this concept!

    so, if you came over for coffee, iโ€™d hide behind my teacup to glance at your suspicious brew and answer:

    – yes, i watched some of the original avatar series, but no korra. we need to discuss as what kind of bender iโ€™d have the best chance to branch out into lightbending because vanishing from other peopleโ€™s sight would be super convenient for those LEAVE ME THE EFF ALONE days. if that isnโ€™t a possibility, itโ€™s a toss-up between airbending and earthbending because airbending is the closest to force choke and metalbending via earthbending is the closest to being magneto.

    – favourite video games is difficult because there are so many that are good in their own specific way and several that played an important role in my gaming history, and some that i just plain enjoy. so i have no idea whether i can keep it to just 5, but here goes off the top of my head: the metal gear solid series (3, 1 and peace walker especially), quake (1 & 3. 2 was boring and slow), street fighter 3: 3rd strike, shadow of the colossus, minecraft, the legend of zelda: a link to the past, final fantasy xii, skyrim.
    right now, i am replaying thief gold, dabble in mount & blade and sneak in way too many rounds of darkstalkers 3 (vampire savior 2)

    – music is easy but a little scary because i havenโ€™t had such a schizophrenic playlist in ages:
    kirlian camera (dark wave, from italy. my absolute favourite band of all time, yt: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtXDfwO9aFs)
    siderartica (a sideproject of kirlian cameraโ€™s front woman, yt: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YvOSAw_fSwY)
    woodkid (neofolk, from france, yt: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmc21V-zBq0)
    therion (symphonic metal, from sweden, yt: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gPLb9FVKoqI)
    perfume (sickly sweet electropop, from japan, yt: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bu1MsSvg8QA)

    – i canโ€™t help with christmas stuff because we got ours all packed away as well. but it snowed today and there is no christmas ornament that can transform the entire world into something peaceful/silent/magical the way snow can. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lily says:

      Haha, we can have tea, if you prefer! I’m actually a regular tea drinker and only have coffee on special occasions. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Well, when it comes to bending, maybe you’d be the avatar! Firebenders are the ones who can train to bend lightning, and if you also like the idea of airbending and earthbending, we just have to figure out which trait of waterbenders would work for you.

      I wondered if I should make it a Top 10 list for games! ๐Ÿ˜€ You’ve got an eclectic mix going there. You know, waterbending would get you the equivalent of Frost Breath from Skyrim! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I’m about to dash out for dinner, but I will listen to your music suggestions. Thanks a ton! I love finding new things!

      Like

      • gekitsu says:

        bah, who needs frost breath when their assassinโ€™s blade sneak attack one-hit-kills pretty much everything alive? (i even one-hit-killed a dragon with a sneak attack once, but that was a weapon effect.)

        i think limiting me to one sort of bending would be wise, though. if i was an avatar, iโ€™d use all of my abilities to further my laziness. making me a normal bender is questionable enough already. (cf. my singling out darth vader and magneto abilities)

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lily says:

          Hahaha, I guess I should take this moment to remind you, “With great power comes great responsibility.” But I don’t know if that proverb would’ve done anything for Vader or Magneto. ๐Ÿ˜‰

          I will admit that I didn’t listen to your playlist this weekend…but I did this morning (Monday) while getting ready. Thanks for sharing! I have never brushed my teeth to more epic music! I think my favorite was Woodkid; I’m definitely going to look into that more. ๐Ÿ˜€

          Like

  6. Corina says:

    I’ve never watched the show. And video games…I never got into them. When my kids were little, they had Nintendo and I fell in love with Tetris and Duck Hunt. I couldn’t wait for them to get to bed so I could have it all to myself! But I don’t play anything now. And yes, I still have Christmas stuff out. I can’t get into my storage shed because my daughter’s boyfriend has his non-functioning car in my driveway, right up against the door to the shed! So I may have Christmas stuff out for quite some time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

