For the Love of Geek | January 14, 2015

Game of Thrones Gets a Premiere Date and a Special
GOTSeason5

Game of Thrones is going to be back for Season 5 on April 12 on HBO (April 13 on Sky for the UK). Just so you know. Really, you’re probably just going to download it somewhere anyway. After all, Game of Thrones is the returning champ in the category of “Most Pirated Show,” keeping the top spot for the third year in a row.

There’s also going to be a Season 5 special that airs on February 8. Fan site Watcher on the Wall, has more details on what to expect.

New Trailer for Age of Ultron


I know it’s important to share the newest Avengers: Age of Ultron trailer, but I’ll be honest, this trailer just heightens my uneasiness about this movie. Not that I’m afraid it’s going to be handled poorly; I’m actually just turning into a little kid again because I know it’s going to get scary and bad for my favorite characters. I’m pretty sure it’s going to leave me feeling like I did after I watched The Empire Strikes Back for the first time. “But…but…things are still bad! We can’t stop now! Can’t we please watch the next movie, Mom and Dad? Please?”

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is Back
TMNT_EyesoftheChimera

Now that we’re into January, our favorite shows are finally starting to get back into rotation! Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles had its first new episode, though it looks like the show has switched from Friday nights to Sunday mornings.

I feel like in Season 3, the main thing I’ve been getting out of this show is that I get to sing the theme song (yeah, I rock it), because the farmhouse episodes have not been doing it for me. However, this episode was the first time I really got to enjoy Seth Green’s Leonardo (he replaced Jason Biggs this season), and now that he’s doing better, the gang can finally get back to New York! The show just hasn’t been the same without the turtles in their hometown, and rather than getting these freak-of-the-week episodes, I’ll be glad to see some favorite characters return.

Favorite quote goes to Mikey (because of course): “Is that a tiara? I love tiaras!”

Play Old MS DOS Games
CarmenSandiego
Want to find a n̶e̶w̶ old way to spend all of your time? The Internet Archive has released thousands of classic MS-DOS games that you can play right in your browser. As demonstrated by the image above, I’ve already enjoyed some Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego, and there are so many old favorites I can’t wait to play. Which games are you excited about?

2 thoughts on “For the Love of Geek | January 14, 2015

Leave a Reply

