For the Love of Geek | January 7, 2015

GeekyLoveMarquee

I’m so pleased to collaborate with my friends Alice and Maria on The Travelling Geek Show! We became friends through a shared love of geeky movies, television shows, and books, so it seems fitting that we should have a regular post on this blog that focuses on our love of geeky things.

Ant-Man Trailer


To start off our new year of exciting geeky movie releases, Marvel teased us with an ant-sized trailer for the upcoming film, Ant-Man. Hey, if Ant-Man can shrink himself to the size of an ant, why can’t Marvel shrink the trailer? Luckily, a day later, they released a bigger version for us humans.

Whichever version you watched, it was only a teaser for the longer trailer that aired during yesterday’s Agent Carter premiere.

The trailer focused on the character of Scott Lang (played by Paul Rudd) getting an opportunity to change his life and be a hero to his daughter. I liked that they were a bit cheeky when making references to the name Ant-Man; Scott Lang asks Hank Pym (played by Michael Douglas), “Is it too late to change the name?”

I hope they can strike the right balance for this movie with humor (without going too far into Honey, I Shrunk the Kids territory), fun action sequences, and great story telling. Did the trailer get you excited for the summer release of Ant-Man?

Agent Carter Premiere

Agent-Carter-Promo

The two hour season premiere of Agent Carter aired last night, and I loved every minute of it. It’s great to start with a female character who already knows what she’s about. Instead of an origin story, this show starts with an already capable character who gets thrown into a dangerous world of creepy villains, wireless typewriters, and catastrophic implosions unlike anything she’s seen before. She’ll have to come to terms with the fact that she needs the help of others to do her job, but by doing so, she puts their lives in danger.

From the start, I noticed many familiar faces (too many to list!), and if you’re like me, you’ll spend a lot of your time during the show thinking, “I know that actor!” We are also introduced to characters we know from the Marvel universe. The beginning has a flash back to Captain America, and of course we already know Howard Stark, but we also meet Jarvis as a person and not a disembodied voice in Tony Stark’s ear. It looks like we’ll be seeing the Howling Commandos soon, too!

Artist Promises New Star Wars Comics Every Day in 2015

As you’ve probably heard, there’s a little sequel coming out in December that is really starting to get some buzz–Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Happily for us, George Folz is running a daily Star Wars comic on his Twitter feed while we wait for the film’s release. So far, all of the panels have been from A New Hope (and they’re wonderful!), but I’m guessing that as the year goes on, we’ll see some from The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi.

Will we see any comics featuring scenes from the prequels, I wonder?

5 thoughts on “For the Love of Geek | January 7, 2015

  1. Gene'O says:

    Thanks for following me, Lily! Best of luck with this. I tweeted the link to a few of my geeky friends. Would have left this on the about page, but comments don’t seem to be enabled there.

    This is a very nice feature, and I look forward to more of them. I’ve got a friend getting ready to recap Agent Carter on my blog. We did a review this week, and the Internet demanded more. That one’s looking like a winner.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lily says:

      Thanks, Gene’O! Even though I’ve been blogging for years, I’m finally getting into the whole WordPress community thang. I think it will be a better way to keep apprised on all of your blogs. 🙂

      I really love Agent Carter. This mini-review doesn’t do it justice. I was happy to see the review on your blog this past week, too! Though, I’m more head-over-heels in love than CompGeekDavid. ;-P

      Liked by 1 person

      • Gene'O says:

        Fabulous, and welcome to WordPress! I am unravelling all the social media y’all have connected to this blog right now. Trying to figure out what I am not following, how to keep up, and how best to let all my friends know you are here.

        Already picked up your Facebook page and send Diana an invite.

        That Middle Earth News tweet yesterday was quite spectacular. Eric almost has the page numbering puzzle solved, and he hasn’t had to buy any extra copies to get it done.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lily says:

          Haha, we’re just starting, but THANK YOU for all the follows and shares. We have some exciting ideas for this blog; in fact, Maria has a new piece going up tomorrow, so keep an eye out. 🙂

          Thanks for tweeting it at Middle-earth News! Hopefully it doesn’t smack of nepotism, but I saw it and knew our followers could be a big help. 😉

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

